## 5. OFFICERS' REPORTS

#### 5.1. ELECTION RESULTS - 2024 QUADRENNIAL ELECTION

REPORT AUTHOR Maria Evans, Manager Governance

MANAGER Rachel Brophy, Chief Executive Officer

**DEPARTMENT** Governance

#### RECOMMENDATION

That Council note the content of this report of the 2024 Election Results provided by the Electoral Commission of Queensland.

### **EXECUTIVE SUMMARY**

A quadrennial Local Government Election was held on 16 March 2024. The Electoral Commission of Queensland (ECQ) has declared the results of the polls and the election is officially concluded.

## **COMMENTS**

The ECQ declared the result of the election in accordance with s100 of the *Local Government Electoral Act 2011* by publishing notices of declaration at the office of the Returning Officer at 6 Mill Street, Mossman, QLD 4873.

The publication of the notices of declaration concluded the election.

The following persons were declared duly elected for the Offices of Mayor and Councillors:

Mayor Lisa Scomazzon
Councillor Michael Rees
Councillor Roy Zammataro
Councillor Damian Meadows
Councillor Abigail Noli

The 2024 quadrennial local government election concluded with the declaration of the polls by the ECQ. All electoral vacancies have been filled with the conclusion of the election.

## **PROPOSAL**

That Council note the content of this report of the election results provided by the Electoral Commission of Queensland.

## **ATTACHMENTS**

- 1. Local Government Elections- Douglas Shire- Notice-of- Results [5.1.1 1 page]
- Local Government Elections- Douglas Shire Division 1- Notice-of- Results [5.1.2 1 page]

# NOTICE OF ELECTION RESULTS Attachment 5.1.1

## 2024 Local Government Elections

## **Douglas Shire**

## Saturday, 16 March 2024



The local government quadrennial elections were held on Saturday, 16 March 2024.

In accordance with section 100 of the Local Government Electoral Act 2011, this notice advises that the following person(s) has been duly elected for Douglas Shire.

6 of 20

POSITION	FULL NAME OF ELECTED CANDIDATE	DECLARATION DATE
MAYOR	SCOMAZZON, Lisa Jayne	26 Mar 2024

Pat Vidgen **Electoral Commissioner** 

#### NOTICE OF ELECTION RESULTS Attachment 5.1.2

## 2024 Local Government Elections

# **Douglas Shire Division 1**

# Saturday, 16 March 2024



The local government quadrennial elections were held on Saturday, 16 March 2024.

In accordance with section 100 of the *Local Government Electoral Act 2011*, this notice advises that the following person(s) has been duly elected for Douglas Shire Division 1.

7 of 20

POSITION	FULL NAME OF ELECTED CANDIDATE	DECLARATION DATE
COUNCILLOR	REES, Michael	28 Mar 2024
COUNCILLOR	ZAMMATARO, Roy Charles	28 Mar 2024
COUNCILLOR	MEADOWS, Damian Gerard	28 Mar 2024
COUNCILLOR	NOLI, Abigail Fenella	28 Mar 2024

Pat Vidgen Electoral Commissioner