Skip to main content

The Electoral Commission of Queensland (ECQ) published a notice of election on Saturday, February 22.

The Notice of Election and opening of candidate nominations also means Douglas Shire Council is now officially in caretaker period.

For more information about what this means, please read Council’s Caretaker Period Policy here.

Voters can check their details on the Australian Electoral Commission website at

The following information taken from the Electoral Commission of Queensland website shows important upcoming dates:

22 February – Notice of Election

Notice of Election is given. The caretaker period for all councils begins.

22 February to 3 March – Candidate nominations

Nominations for candidates for election as mayors and councillors are open until midday on Tuesday, 3 March 2020. Details of candidates will be published on ECQ’s website.

New requirements apply for candidates, political parties, third party campaigners and political donors for the 2020 local government elections. For more information, see Candidate requirements – 2020 local government elections.

28 February – Close of electoral roll

Voters have until 5pm on 28 February, 2020 to either update their enrolment to a new name or address or to enrol for the first time. This will ensure their eligibility to vote in the election.

4 March – Paper ballot draw

The ECQ will conduct a random draw to determine the order in which candidates appear on ballot papers.

4 March to 19 March – How-to-vote card review

The ECQ must accept all how-to-vote cards before they can be distributed to voters during local government elections.

The ECQ will review candidates’ how-to-vote cards from 4 March to 19 March, with cards accepted by the ECQ to be available on the commission’s website.

16 March – Postal vote applications close

Postal vote applications close at 7pm on 16 March, 2020. Voting must be completed by 6pm on Election Day. The ECQ must receive your postal vote no later than 5pm Tuesday, 7 April, 2020.

Postal votes cannot be sent until after the ballot draw on 4 March, 2020.

From 16 March – Early voting commences

Early voting will be conducted between 16 March and 27 March, 2020. Timeframes for early voting will vary in different locations, and detailed information about early voting times will be published on the ECQ website.

28 March

Election day.

Close Menu