Skip to main content

Local Indigenous signage to roll out

THIRTY-six place signs featuring local Indigenous Language will be installed across Douglas Shire after five months of close consultation with Traditional Owners.

Consultation with Kuku Yalanji Elders and Traditional Custodians began in February 2019, in collaboration with Jabalbina Yalanji Aboriginal Organisation, with community workshops held in Wujal Wujal and Mossman.

Talks were also held with Yirrganydji Elders and Traditional Custodians through the Dawul Wuru Aboriginal Organisation and the Yirrganydji Gurabana Aboriginal Corporation.

Douglas Shire Mayor Julia Leu said the new signs sent an important message to the community.

“These signs are about paying respect to the Traditional Owners of this land and making an important statement to recognise that,” she said.

“The project will add cultural value to the various local areas and build on the rich visitor experience by embracing our local Indigenous language.

“What is most rewarding is the close consultation between Douglas Shire Council and the Traditional Owners has given our community a real sense of ownership over this project.”

Douglas Shire Council will also seek to finalised designs and install welcome signage featuring local Indigenous designs at Mossman and Daintree Village.

The Douglas Shire is the traditional country of two tribal groups: the Eastern Kuku Yalanji and the Yirrganydji people.

Council to record Council meetings

AUDIO recordings of Douglas Shire Council meetings will be published on Council’s website to improve transparency and availability of information.

Douglas Shire Council updated its Standing Orders for Council Meetings General Policy at this week’s Ordinary Council Meeting.

Experienced Council staff celebrated

A DEDICATED group of Council workers has been recognised for various milestones of service to Douglas Shire.

Douglas Shire Council Mayor Julia Leu and Councillors this week recognised 18 staff members for collectively reaching 275 years of service to the Douglas Shire.

The staff celebrated 10-year, 15 year, 20 year and 30 years of service for the organisation.

The full list of award winners is below:


Full Name Position Department Years
Craig Mitchell Technical Officer Civil Works Infrastructure 10
Benjamin Armbrust Team Leader Construction – Civil Assets Infrastructure 10
Louise Stayte Team Leader Environmental Health Environment & Planning 10
Annette Wood Street Sweeper Operator Infrastructure 10
Henry Maro Team Leader Water Quality Water & Wastewater 10
Mark Halstead Technical Officer Building Facilities Infrastructure 10
Gaylene Sheather Nursery Technician Public & Natural Area Infrastructure 10
Jeff White Pest Animal Controller Infrastructure 15
Kevin Jack Ganger Daintree North Infrastructure 15
Jason Osborne Labourer Infrastructure 15
Mary Graham Team Leader Integrated Services Finance & Corporate Services 15
Michael Mantell Ganger Public & Natural Areas Infrastructure 15
Kelly Morris Field Officer – Resource Management Environment & Planning 15
Neil Beck Team Leader Planning Environment & Planning 20
Brian Lees Civil Works Advisor Infrastructure 20
Jenny Elphinstone Senior Planning Officer Environment & Planning 20
Judy Coulthard Team Leader Library People & Community Services 25
Anthony Kadwell Technical Officer – Water Reticulation Water & Wastewater 30


Close Menu