Skip to main content

A group of new Australians have been recognised in a citizenship ceremony held at the Mossman Shire Hall.

14 people received a Commemorative Australian Citizenship Certificate from Douglas Shire Mayor Lisa Scomazzon as well as a native plant from Council’s nursery to celebrate the special occasion.

The shire’s new citizens are from Argentina, the Philippines, South Africa, New Zealand and the United Kingdom.

Mayor Scomazzon said she was pleased for both the new citizens and the Douglas Shire.

“The region regularly has people visit from all over the world but when they decide to make the Douglas Shire home, we welcome them with open arms,” she said.

“Our new citizens bring with them skills, cultural experiences and a genuine appreciation for living in Far North Queensland – their presence can only benefit our community.”

Meet our new citizens below

Images are available at full size on request

Close Menu