Skip to main content

The National Four Tropical Weed Eradication Program (NFTWEP) commenced in 2002 and targets five highly invasive tropical weed species: Limnocharis flava, Miconia calvescens, Miconia nervosa, Miconia racemosa and Mikania micrantha.

Between July 1st 2017 and June 30 2018 the program met all surveillance targets with field teams, which include Douglas Shire Council, completing 7,000 hectares (500 hectares more than 2016-2017), mostly in rugged terrain and dense rainforest.



The program has continued to attract additional stakeholder support, with $354,000 of in-kind resources provided for operations, community engagement and research.

A summary of progress in Douglas Shire is below:

Button Text
Close Menu