Skip to main content

DOUGLAS Shire Council’s new Mayor is wasting no time getting his team together after an extraordinary swearing-in ceremony on Easter Sunday.

Mayor Michael Kerr, who officially became Douglas Shire’s 21st Mayor at the long weekend, will welcome his four fellow Councillors at a Special Meeting scheduled for 9.30am on Thursday this week.

The Electoral Commission of Queensland (ECQ) declared the final Councillor results for Douglas Shire on Saturday evening, April 11, advising that Peter McKeown, Lisa Scomazzon, Abigail Noli and Roy Zammataro were to be elected.

In line with Federal Government health advice to slow the spread of COVID-19, attendance at the Declaration of Office and Post-Election meeting will be restricted to elected members and key Council staff, however, residents and ratepayers are encouraged to tune into Council’s Facebook page to watch a live-stream of the ceremony.

Audio and video recordings will also be uploaded to Council’s website after the meeting.

Mayor Kerr said Council will bring its first meeting into people’s homes.

“I want to encourage everyone to tune into the live stream and get behind your new council team,” he said.

“Due to the pandemic, we can’t mark the occasion as we hoped, but we can do our best to give everyone a chance to be involved.

“I would like to congratulate the winning Councillors – Peter, Lisa, Abigail and Roy – who I know are keen to start working for the whole Douglas Shire community.”

The new Council will consider four agenda items including:

  • Returning Officer’s Report – Declaration of Poll
  • Election of Deputy Mayor
  • Council Meeting Dates for 2020
  • LDMG Chair and Deputy Chair

The official public notice announcing the Declaration of Office and Post-Election Meeting is available here.

Close Menu