Skip to main content

BACKPACKERS who fell in love with the tropics many years ago, students and professionals in search of a laid-back lifestyle were among a diverse batch of new Aussies that now officially call Douglas Shire home.

Douglas Shire Council Mayor Julia Leu today welcomed 33 new citizens at the Mossman Shire Hall for the largest turnout to an Australian Citizenship ceremony.

Christopher Baker – Britain

Mayor Leu said the new citizens received a warm welcome to the tropics.

“People settle into Douglas Shire for all sorts of reasons and this year is no different,” she said.

“We had new citizens who fell in love with our beautiful region while on holidays and others who moved up here for work and never left.

“Many of our new citizens want to raise their young families here and are equally passionate about growing our beautiful shire.

“Whatever the reason, it is fair to say the Douglas Shire is the greatest place to live.”

New citizens enjoyed an Aussie morning tea featuring lamingtons, sausage rolls and quiches.

Countries represented included India, France, Denmark, Ukraine, Italy, Vietnam, Germany, Netherlands, Taiwan, Hungary and South Korea, Canada, Ireland, United States of America, and the UK.

According to the Australian Bureau of Statistics, about 20% of the population in Douglas Shire was born overseas.

Since 2014, the estimated resident population for Douglas Shire has grown by 538 people.


Nathaniel Moore – United States of America

Natasha Gray – United Kingdom

Michelle Brewster – United Kingdom

Michael Galvin – Ireland

Mette Morgan – Denmark

Mei-yin Shen – Taiwan

Matthew Griffin – United Kingdom

Manon Carre – France

Leonard Behera – India

Lain Colmore – New Zealand

June Park – South Korea

Grainne Killeen – Ireland

Ellen Murphy-Van Barr – Netherlands

Claudio Nespoli – Italy

Christopher Knight – United Kingdom

Cecile Pochon – France

Carrie Chiasson – Canada

Carlton Smith – United Kingdom

Callum Smith – United Kingdom

Beata Peter – Hungary

Young Lee – South Korea

Trong Nguyen- Vietnam

Supattra Ngamurairat – Thailand

Sonia Kapadia – United Kingdom

Shinji Park – South Korea

Sandrine Gloton – France

Sabrina Fadum – Germany

Ruben Helmus – Netherlands

Rosemary Findlay – United Kingdom

Ronald Findlay – United Kingdom

Psei-Hsuan Wu – Taiwan

Peter Chegwidden – South Africa

Close Menu