The Douglas Garden Awards is back for another year!

Douglas Shire Council has launched the second edition of the popular competition, calling on residents and businesses to “Let it Grow’” again in 2019.

ABC’s Gardening Australia host Costa Georgiadis will return for two days to judge local gardens and rub shoulders with Douglas Shire residents.


Entries will officially open on June 3, 2019 to ensure gardeners have sufficient time to prepare their lush gardens, with judging to start at July 31, 2019.

There are seven categories including:

    • Residential Garden
    • Acreage Garden
    • Edible Garden
    • Sustainable / Environmental
    • Professional Gardener – Residential / Other
    • School
    • Landcare / Farm

Watch this page and follow Council’s Facebook page for updates!


Key dates:

  • Entries Open – Monday June 3, 2019
  • Entries Close – Friday July 12, 2019
  • Finalist Judging – Wednesday July 31, 2019
  • Finalist Judging– Thursday August 1, 2010

Media Releases: